• Home
  • Research Opportunities
Updated 08/22/2013

FY2013 Department of Defense Rapid Innovation Fund BAA

Air Force FY13 Rapid Innovation Fund BAA

Office of Naval Research BAA


ARMY RESEARCH LABORATORY Broad Agency Announcement (BAA) for Basic and Applied Scientific Research .PDF
Research areas of interest:
MATERIALS SCIENCES
BALLISTICS & AEROMECHANIC SCIENCES 
INFORMATION SCIENCES
HUMAN SCIENCES 
SURVIVABILITY, LETHALITY, AND VULNERABILITY ANALYSIS AND ASSESSMENT

ARMY RESEARCH OFFICE Broad Agency Announcement (BAA) for Basic and Applied Scientific Research .PDF
Research areas of interest:
MECHANICAL SCIENCES 
ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES
MATHEMATICS 
ELECTRONICS
COMPUTING SCIENCE 
PHYSICS 
CHEMICAL SCIENCES 
LIFE SCIENCES 
MATERIALS SCIENCE 
NETWORK SCIENCE


ONR Maneuver Warfare Applied Research (.pdf)

Guide to Naval Avaiation Propulsion and Power Technology Development Programs (.docx)

Click the deparment to list all faculty members

Electrical Engineering & Computer Science

Faculty E-mail Research

Arvin Agah

agah@eecs.ku.edu

Autonomous Mobile Robots for Harsh Environments
Biomedical Robotics
Distributed Robotics
Multi-Agent Systems
Software Engineering

Perry Alexander

palexand@eecs.ku.edu

System-level design
Formal specification and verification
Specification and programming languages

Christopher Allen

callen@eecs.ku.edu

Microwave remote sensing
Radar system design and analysis

Shannon Blunt

sdblunt@eecs.ku.edu

Adaptive Signal Processing for Radar and Communications
Multistatic Radar
Radar Pulse Compression
Radar Waveform Design/Implementation
Space-Time Adaptive Processing
Array Processing
Interference Cancellation
Multi-user

Kenneth Demarest demarest@eecs.ku.edu Computational Electromagnetic Techniques
Lightwave Systems

Joseph Evans

evans@eecs.ku.edu

Cognitive radio networks
Wireless and mobile networks
High-speed networks
Programmable/active networks
Pervasive computing environments
Adaptive systems

Victor Frost

frost@eecs.ku.edu

Internet quality of service
traffic management
Integrated broadband communication networks

Xin Fu

xinfu@ku.edu

Compurer architecture
hardware reliability
impact of nano-scale technology scaling on milti-core processors
on-chip interconnection network

Andy Gill

andygill@ku.edu

Functional Programming
Compilers
Systems
Debugging
Software Engineering
Domain Specific Languages for
hardware descriptions, and
image generation, and
equational reasoning

Prasad Gogineni

gogineni@eecs.ku.edu

Radar systems
Microwave engineering

Jerzy Grzymala-Busse jerzy@eecs.ku.edu Data mining
Knowledge discovery
Machine learning
Expert systems
Reasoning under uncertainty
Rough set theory

Jun Huan

jhuan@eecs.ku.edu

Bioinformatics
Data Mining
Machine Learning
Statistical Learning

Rongqing Hui

hui@eecs.ku.edu

Optical communication systems and subsystems
Photonic devices
Optical measurement and sensors

Nancy Kinnersley

kinners@eecs.ku.edu

Design and analysis of algorithms
Graph theory and graph algorithms
Computer Science Education
Tree automata
Computational complexity
Discrete mathematics

Man Kong

kong@eecs.ku.edu

Design and Analysis of Algorithms
Combinatorial Optimizations
Graph Algorithms

Prasad Kulkarni

kulkarni@eecs.ku.edu

Static and dynamic/adaptive compilers
Virtual machines
Computer architecture

Carlton Leuschen

leuschen@eecs.ku.edu

Not listed

Fengjun (Cathy) Li

fli@ku.edu

Secure and privacy-preserving data sharing and data publishing
Health informatics
Privacy and security in social networks
Wireless sensor networks, smart grids, and network security

Bo Luo

bluo@ku.edu

Information security and privacy
XML and conventional database systems
Security and privacy in the context of Web and information retrieval

James Miller

miller@eecs.ku.edu

Visualization
Geometric and solid modeling for computer aided design
Computer graphics
Technology in Education
Object-oriented technology
Web-based client-server processing and Java

Gary Minden

gminden@eecs.ku.edu

Digital systems
Microprocessors
Artificial intelligence

Erik Perrins

esp@eecs.ku.edu

Digital communication theory
advanced modulation techniques,
channel coding
synchronization
multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications
orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM)
wireless communications
Practical research problems in communications -
complexity reduction in receivers
effective implementation architectures for communication systems
the intersection of wireless communications and digital hardware design.

David Petr

dwp@eecs.ku.edu

Performance Analysis
Traffic Integration
Congestion Control
Resource Management
Quality of Service for Communication Networks
Educational Motivation and Assessment

Glenn Prescott

prescott@eecs.ku.edu

Digital signal applications for Communications and Radar
Digital communications
Military radio systems
Low probability of intercept communications
Time-frequency signal analysis

James Rowland

jrowland@eecs.ku.edu

Stochastic Modeling and Simulation
Optimal Estimation and Control
Radar Detection and Estimation

Hossein Saiedian

saiedian@eecs.ku.edu

Software architecture
Software processes and process management
Agile software development
Software engineering and computing education

Sarah Seguin

seguin@cresis.ku.edu

Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC)
Unintentional and Intentional Electromagnetic Interference (EMI)
Radar Systems
Signal Integrity
Antenna Design
Electromagnetic Modeling

James Sterbenz

jpgs@eecs.ku.edu

Survivable, Resilient, and Disruption Tolerant Networking
Programmable and Active Networks
High-Speed Networking (High-Bandwidth and Low Latency)
Mobile Wireless Networks

James Stiles

jstiles@eecs.ku.edu

Radar remote sensing
Propagation and scattering of electromagnetic waves in random media
Polarimetrics, interferometric and super-resolution radar
Applications of estimation theory to target parameter retrieval

Aerospace Engineering

Faculty E-mail Research
Coming soon!

 

Audiology

Faculty E-mail Research
Coming Soon!    

 

Subscribe to Department News

EVENTS

Fort Leavenworth Series III: Decisive Battles

Vitoria, 1813 

Dr. Mark Gerges

May 1, 2014 | Dole Institute of Politics | 3:00 PM 

Foreign Area Officer (FAO) video
News

Foreign Area Officer Program (FAO)



The University of Kansas has been educating U.S. Foreign Area Officers for more than 50 years. The interdisciplinary MA program in Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies at KU is one of the longest established in the nation, having trained more than 60 Foreign Area Officers since 1990. Learn more...

$240 million in research expenditures
48 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Pharmacy school No. 2 nationally for NIH funding
Hall Center receives 3rd NEH challenge grant to support humanities research collaboration
Regional leader in technology commercialization
12 graduate programs rank in top 10 nationally among public universities.
—U.S. News & World Report
Driving discovery, innovation, entrepreneurship
Home to 15 major research centers & state surveys
1st in nation for its special education master’s and doctorate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
1st in nation for its city management and urban policy master’s program.
—U.S. News & World Report